APCU names 6 laureates for 2024 Philippines-China friendship awards

Six outstanding Filipinos have been named as this year’s laureate of the Award for Promoting Philippines-China Understanding (APPCU). Chairman Raul Lambino of the organizing  Association for Philippines-China Understanding (APCU) announced the following awardees for three categories:

For the Hall of Fame: 

  1. Larry Tan Villareal, Businessman and philanthropist and Founding President of the Philippine Soong Ching Ling Foundation, the 11th China Overseas Chinese Federation; Adviser, China Overseas Friendship Association
  2. Gabriel “Gabby” Ma. J Lopez, Academic and Professor in many universities, Pioneering Member of APCU, Member of the 1st APCU Delegation to China in 1977, and served as President of APCU

For Outstanding Contribution:

  1. Benito Techico, Businessman, and Special Envoy of the President to China for Trade, Investments and Tourism
  2. Manuel Mamba, Medical Doctor and Politician, currently serving as Governor of Cagayan Province and former Chairman of the Regional Peace & Order Council in Region 2

For Major Contribution: 

  1. Ching Tam Cua, Is a literary writer and Pioneering Member of APCU, served as Member of the Board of Trustees and Head of its Council of Elders
  2. Lily Tan Lim, PhD-holder, Teacher, Journalist, Civic and Sports Leader

Lambino said all of the six as well as 10 other nominees this year have exhibited valuable contributions in promoting understanding, friendship and cooperations between the two countries in various fields resulting in the mutual benefit and advancement of our good bilateral relations.

In giving this recognition and honor, we are hoping that their works and achievements will inspire other Filipinos towards the same end, to build bridges of friendships rather than walls that divide our people, he said. The laureates will each receive a trophy, certificate and token cash prize at the awarding ceremony on June 7 at the Manila Hotel. 

Now on its fourth year, APPCU is a joint project between APCU and the Chinese Embassy in Manila, Lambino said.  It is part of the celebration marking the establishment of diplomatic relations between our two countries 49 years ago on June 9, 1975, he added. He said these awards and celebrations will show the strong and lasting bond of friendship between our two nations.

This year’s APPCU laureate consist of five male and the only female Dr. Lily Tan Lim represented a high degree of women empowerment through all her endeavor serving as inspiration to advocates everywhere. ///Mary Jane Olvina-Balaguer, 09053611058, maryjaneolvina@gmail.com