Ten Awardees of the 2024 Outstanding Women in Law Enforcement and National Security (OWLENS) by Republic Defenders

Quezon City- In line with this month National women’s month in the press conference last March 13, 2024 at Quezon City Sports Club. The Republic Defenders organizing the OWLENS since 2019 collaborated with San Miguel Corporation with this year primary sponsor Robinsons Land and the conferment ceremony will be  held on March 21,2024 5:00 PM on the same venue and keynote Speaker is Secretary Benhur Abalos Jr of the Department of  the Interior and Local Government.

In honored women Empowerment in showing dedication to women in law enforcement national security, fostering national peace and development are the following:

Police Maj. Mae Ann Raguine Cunanan, of Philippine National Police, gave voice to victims of exploitation and has empowered them to know and assert their rights through the Internal Cleansing Program of the PNP under the Integrity Monitoring and Enforcement Group. Without for, PMaj Cunanan was able to apprehend and charge abusive members if the PNP and she continue to do so at present. 

 Col Arlene A Frage (GSC) PA is the first female Company Commander of a combat unit in the history of Philippine Army in 2000.

Col Frage is currently the Chief of the Office if the AFP Gender and Development who at the same time is the Head Secretariat to the AFP GAD focal point system and the Chairperson of the Technical Working Group on the study, review and formulation of AFP policies that are gender- related issue. 

LTC Cynthia Forteza-Guinto PAF as the pioneer Female fixed-wing Presidential Pilot in Command of the C295M aircraft. Her courage and skills shine through, notably leading a successful Maritime Patrol Mission in the West Philippine Sea and International Flight Missions, where she stands as the sole female in the crew. 

1LT Lei Vanette D. Alangui PAF from Igorot Applai Tribe of Sagada, Mountain Province as the first female A-29B Super Tucano Pilot to conduct airstrike and battle air interdiction missions. Her pivotal role in successful neutralization of communist terrorist groups resulted in the recovery of high powered firearms such as AK 47 assault rifle, M4 assault rifle, M16A assault rifle and 40 mm grenade launcher that prevented them from conducting attacks against government troops in the area. 

Col Ann Marie T Gerodiaz PAF (GSC) as the first woman Waraynon  AFP officer to be deployed individually in the UN, she paved the way for more Filipino women participation in peace keeping operations in accordance with the goals of the UN Security  Resolution on Women, Peace and Security. She also became the first woman Commander of a`Tactical Operations group 8 of the Philippine Air Force that was recognized as the” Group of the year in the Non Flying Group Combat Category”.

Col Rosa Ma Cristina Rosete- Manuel GSC(ART) PA as the first female commander of the 2nd Field Artillery (First Round Accuracy) Battalion, Army Artillery Regiment (AAR), Philippine Army (PA), and the second female appointed by the AAR leadership. Transitioning to a new role in present , she was appointed as Assistant Chief of Unified Command Staff for Communication,Electronics and Information System, U6 of the Eastern Mindanao Command (EastMinCom), Armed Forces of the Philippines, In this capacity, as a Computer Engineer, she enhanced her unit’s cybersecurity posture and facilitated seamless communication interoperability during operations and disaster response efforts and EastMinCom Spokesperson.

PSSg Aidalyn Bustamante Barrido, PhD her beauty as Ms QCPD Ganda Pulis 2018 ” Darling of the Crowd and she represents Sta Rosa in Mrs Laguna Philippines Coronation Night. She authored the PNPTI Shooter’s guide: ” How to hit a desired target” and Physical Fitness Development Guide with the Technical Working Group. She completed the Philippine National Police Academy Initiation Stage, Performance Governance System, the system’s first and most crucial step. She assisted 18 Training Center researchers and writers in presenting their results and recommendations at the 2021 and 2022 PNPTI Institutional Research Virtual Oral Presentation.

Maj Aileen Zara PAF also known as “Princess” as her call sign in the 205th Tactical Helicopter Wing, is the First Female Flight Examiner of the Legendary UH-1 Helicopter. She is a recipient of numerous awards throughout her career and to name a few, she is named Marawi Hero as she performed day and night operations during the Marawi Siege in 2017.

1LT Cielo Rose U Dolorican PA from Disud Sindangan Zamboanga del Norte a Cavalier Awardee for Army Operations (Junior Category) last February 17, 2024. Her first foray in Combat operations came when she was designated as scout platoon leader fully knowing the challenges the duty entails due to her gender. she proved herself more than capable as a combat leader as she led and orchestrated combat operations that led to five(5) encounters including one major encounter resulting to the neutralization of various Communist Terrorist Groups (CTG) personalities as well the capture of various high powered firearms, low powered firearms, improvised explosive devices and subvervive documents.

CSupt Alma Gran  Abacahin (DSC) BFP presently the current Regional Director of Bureau of Fire Protection Region 10 (Northern Mindanao)., she has been the Acting Director for the Directorate of Human Resource and Development of the BFP National Headquarters. She is the first ever female officer who specialized in Fire and Arson as well as Post Blast Investigation. She has been instrumental in the resolution of cases involving the Superferry terrorist bombings incident in 2004, the Glorietta Mall in Makati City explosion incident 2007, fire at Old annex Treasury Building of Quezon City Hall in 2009, string of fire incidence that razed the University of the Philippines, Diliman Campus in 2015 and fire/explosion incidents of Metro Rail Transit Line 3 (MRT-3) Depot at the underground basement of Trinoma Mall, Quezon City. Earning recognition through accolades including the Presidential Citation Award.

Present also  Col Bon Castillo Chief of Air Force Public Affairs Office. Jerico Joshua M Kahulugan, National Vice Chairman for Media Affairs and Communication Bagong Lipunan Enchanced Synergy Stewardship Economic  Development  (BLESSED) Movement and Team BBM 2022 ,  and Actor Xavier Martin Apostol.

Republic Defenders is composed of professionals, entrepreneurs, government officials and businessmen. Board of Director and Officers 2024 Ambassador Vidal Querol as Chairman Emeritus, Department of Education Undersecretary Epimaco Densing as Chairman, Eddie Y. Choa as President,  Odilon Sta Teresa Vice President/Internal, Herbert Antonio Martinez Vice President/External also Chairman of BLESSED Movement and Team BBM 2022, Severino S Oliva Corporate Secretary, Jerry Tan Treasurer, Ariel  Suguitan P.R.O., Col. kim Molitas Director, Irving Tan Director, Bobby Bautista Director, Dr Paul Chua Director, Gen Romy Poquiz Director, Committees: Membership  Irving Tan, Paul Chua, Yanns Sy,  Ways and Means Jerry Tan, Sevie Tan and Bobby Bautista, Education & Training Dr. Paul Chua, Dr. Jonathan Chiong, Dr.Ana Cuyugan and Col Kim Molitas, Communication Pia Morato, Frank Resma, Gen. Rommy Poquiz, General Services Nick Lim and Frank Resma, Sectoral Affairs Ariel Suguitan, Zulfikar-Ali Bayam, Cong Baby Pizarro and OWLENS Project Chairman  Emeritus Ambassador  Vidal Querol , Chairman Usec Epimaco Densing, President Eddie Choa, Gen. Romy Poquiz and Col Kim Molitas.

///Mary Jane Olvina-Balaguer, +639053611058, maryjaneolvina@gmail.com and konekted@dzmjonline.net